From left to right: Lan Cheng, Tiffany Tang, Chuhui Zhang, Stefanie Starr, Zack Hopkins, Detlef Knappe, Danielle Westerman, Pingping Meng, Yuemei Ye (Good-bye lunch for Zack, April 2022)

Front: Tiffany Tang, Pingping Meng, Chuhui Zhang, Yoko Koyama. Back: Nancy Lee Alexander, Stefanie Starr, Lan Cheng, Sarangi Joseph, Noelle DeStefano, Amie McElroy, Zachary Hopkins, Detlef Knappe (May 2021)

Chuhui Zhang, Cecile Zhi, Amie McElroy, Zack Hopkins, Nadine Kotlarz, Lan Cheng, Detlef Knappe, and John Merrill (March 2018)



Research Scholar

Nadine Kotlarz (PhD, University of Michigan) – Drinking water exposure to per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (co-advised with Jane Hoppin)


Pingping Meng (PhD, Tsinghua University) – Life cycle assessment of treatment technologies for PFAS remediation, PFAS uptake by plants

Danielle Westerman (PhD, University of South Carolina) – Development of total organic fluorine methods for blood serum, water, and other matrices

Yuemei Ye (PhD, Tongji University) – Systems analysis tool to assist in management decisions for PFAS waste streams (co-advised with Morton Barlaz)

PhD Students

Maria Isabel Alexander Rodriguez (BS, Clarkson University) – Mechanisms of PFAS adsorption to activated carbon – adsorption kinetics

Nancy Lee Alexander (BS, NC State University) – Occurrence of pesticides in private wells and home treatment options (co-advised with Catherine LePrevost and Erin Baker)

Nafisa Amin – (MS, University of Oklahoma) – Development of PFAS-selective sorbents (co-advised with Wei Gao)

Lan Cheng (BS, Wuhan Institute of Technology) – Removal of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances by ion exchange processes

Farhaneh Maghsoudi (MS, University of Tehran) – Desorption of PFAS from spent granular activated carbon under landfill-relevant conditions

Sarangi Joseph (BTech, Open University of Sri Lanka) – Mechanisms of PFAS adsorption to activated carbon – adsorption equilibrium

Stefanie Starr (MS, Johns Hopkins University) – Fate of per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances during thermal reactivation of granular activated carbon

MS Students

Kathryn Holden (BS, University of Delaware) – Sorption of fluoroethers and other PFAS to soil (co-advised with Owen Duckworth)

Nadia Sheppard (BS, NC State University) – PFAS chronology in lake sediment

Undergraduate Researchers

Stefanie Tran – Extractable organic fluorine in blood serum



Post-doctoral research associates

Noelle DeStefano (PhD, Duke University) – ECT2

Yue Cecile Zhi (PhD, McGill University) – Assistant Professor, Chongqing University

Mei Sun (PhD, Carnegie Mellon University) –¬†Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Shannon Bartelt-Hunt (PhD, University of Virginia) – Professor, University of Nebraska

Erik Rosenfeldt (PhD, Duke University) – Director of Drinking Water Process Technology, Hazen and Sawyer

PhD students

Chuhui Zhang, PhD 2022, Colorado School of Mines (postdoc)

Zachary Hopkins, PhD 2021, US Geological Survey

Amie McElroy, PhD 2020, Savannah River National Laboratory

Bilgen Yuncu, PhD 2010, Draper Aden Associates

Jovita Saquing, PhD 2009, University of Delaware

Carolina Baeza, PhD 2008, Universidad de Concepcion, Chile

Alfred Rossner, PhD 2008, Universidad de Concepcion, Chile

Ye Chen, PhD 2003, Novozymes

Lei Li, PhD 2002, California Environmental Protection Agency

Bingyan Wu, PhD 2002, Rho

MS students

Tiffany Tang, MS 2022, Northeastern University

Yoko Koyama, MS 2021, Hazen and Sawyer

Maia Fitzstevens, MS 2019, Silent Spring Institute

Obatayo Harold Hounwanou, MS 2018, Little Rock Water Reclamation Authority

J. Clark Maness, MS 2017, WithersRavenel

Catalina Lopez Velandia, MS 2016, Nova Consulting

Jonathan Moreno Barbosa, MS 2016, Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department

Amber Greune, MS 2014, Geosyntec

Viking Edeback, MS 2014, Carollo

Rachel Ingham, MS 2014, City of Durham

Elisa Arevalo, MS 2014, Hazen and Sawyer

Allison Reinert Spinelli, MS 2013, Orange Water and Sewer Authority

Meredith Fotta Miller, MS 2012, CDM Smith

Leigh-Ann Dudley, MS 2012, Dewberry

Susan Dunn Auten, MS 2011, Black & Veatch

Angela Mastropole Walsh, MS 2011, Biogen

Qianru Deng, MS 2010, Carollo

Anjali Viswakumar, MS 2010, Eco Services India

Isabella Mezzari, MS 2006, Shell

Lisa Mitchell, MS 2005, City of Durham

Alfred Rossner, MS 2004, continued as PhD student

Travis Wagner, MS 2003, SUEZ Smart & Environmental Solutions

Patricia Quinlivan Chandley, MS 2001, AECOM

Caleb Taylor, MS 2000, New River Valley Water Authority

Steven Gandy, MS 2000, Draper Aden Associates

Neerja Rastogi, MS 1999, CDM Smith

R. Christopher Belk, MS 1999, Hazen and Sawyer

David Briley, MS 1998, Hazen and Sawyer

Andrew Rike, MS 1998, Harbor Environmental